How to free up storage on your iPhone – Guide

But don’t worry, there are ways to make sure you never run out of storage space again. Here are five tips:

  1. Make a list of your favorite photos and videos. This will help you keep track of what you need and when you need it.
  2. Use iCloud to store all your files in one place. This way, if you lose your phone or it gets stolen, your files are safe and sound in iCloud.
  3. Use Dropbox for important files like photos and videos. This way, if you lose your phone or it gets stolen, your files are safe and sound in Dropbox too.
  4. Use Google Drive for important documents like bills and taxes. This way, if you lose your phone or it gets stolen, your documents are safe and sound in Google Drive too!
  5. Use a cloud-based storage service like iCloud or Dropbox if you have an extra computer at home that can be used to store files!

I have a lot of stuff on my iPhone. It’s almost full, and I feel like I need to clean it out. Maybe it’s because I’m used to having a lot of things around me that comfort me, or maybe it’s because I’m worried about losing something important. But I don’t know for sure. In therapy, I’ll figure out what was really going on here.

This screen will likely look a little different for each person as it shows the storage space available on your iPhone. At the top, you will see how much storage space is currently available compared to how much storage space is remaining.

The left column shows the apps, while the right column shows how much storage space they take up on the phone.

Scroll down to see each individual app and how much space it is taking up on your device.

From here on, basically it’s all about deleting things.

Your iPhone will give you some recommendations at the top to make things easier for you. It will also try to sell iCloud storage or use storage you have but may not be using it.

The main recommendation is to enable iCloud Photos. Tapping “Enable” will “Automatically upload and securely store all your photos and videos on iCloud so you can browse, search and share from any of your devices” and this will clear up almost 16GB of storage (damn maybe I should do that). This would solve my storage problem almost immediately considering my photos taken up maybe the biggest storage space on my phone.

According to my storage overview, my messages are carrying up more than 8GB of space. If I turn on the Automatically delete old conversations option, my phone will delete “all messages and attachments sent or received more than 1 year ago”. That would clean up about 5.5GB on my storage – another decent sized chunk of space.

If you want to keep some of the old messages and photos or videos that someone sent you, think about whether you want to keep them all or just a few. ..

If I wanted to see more recommendations, I could tap “show all” to see other easy things I can do to save space. I could empty my “Recently Deleted” photo album. Your iPhone retains photos and videos for 30 days after you delete them (in case you make a mistake and want to get them back). After that, they were gone forever. But you can also be proactive in releasing up iPhone storage space, instantly emptying this album, as long as you’re sure you don’t want to recover any of your recently deleted content. In my case, enabling these options would release up almost 1GB of space.

I can review attachments in my messages by tapping this recommendation. This will show the attachments (photos, videos, documents) that have been shared in my posts – all sorted from largest to smallest so I can review them first. If I want to delete an attachment, just swipe left and tap “Delete”.

Scroll down the screen on your iPhone to see what apps you want to keep and what you want to get rid of.

I want to see how much space my iPhone is taking up. Scroll down to find iMovie in my app list and tap it. My iPhone shows me an overview of the app. It tells me the size of the app, how much space the documents and data within it are taking up, and then gives me options to “unload” or “delete” it. It also tells me what happens if I choose one of these options.

Downloading apps

If I choose Offload App, my iPhone will “release up storage used by the app, but keep your documents and data if the app is still available in the App store.” So I could reinstall iMovie if I wanted, which would “put back the data if the app is no longer available in the App store.”

People like me who want to release up storage space, but don’t want to lose everything in the app being downloaded can use downloading apps as a compromise. By downloading apps, I can save my data and keep my apps.

Deleting apps

The iPhone app can be deleted if you choose to do so. If you delete the app, all of your data and files will be deleted as well.

If I wasn’t worried about losing all the data in my iMovie app, I could choose this option and up storage space that way. I would still have the option to reinstall the app from the App Store, but the data that was there before would have disappeared, so I would be starting from scratch with iMovie.

If you have a lot of apps installed on your iPhone, it’s likely taking up a lot of storage space. But deleting all your apps isn’t the best solution. You can clean up your storage by going through and deciding which apps to keep and delete/unload. This is an easy way to free up space on your iPhone. ..

Do I really need that Trivia Crack game I played for 2 weeks in college when it was popular? Probably not. But getting rid of a bunch of smaller apps will still save a good chunk of storage space.

This iPhone storage menu illustrated in step 4 above will give you the power and flexibility to manage your storage space on your iPhone. Once you get there, you’ll have the ability to do what you want with things. You can use your iPhone recommendations, download some apps, delete some apps, review your photos/videos and go do that iPhone spring cleaning you’ve been putting off.

There are a few other tips and tricks you can use to free up space on your device, but the storage menu is definitely the easiest and best place to start. ..

After you do this, you’ll probably feel like you’ve cleaned your entire apartment. It feels really good, especially without having to do any manual work.

Final note

How to free up storage on your iPhone If you have an iPhone, then you know that it can be a challenge to keep all of your data organized and accessible. One way to do this is by freeing up storage on your device. This guide will show you how to do this in a simple and easy-to-follow manner. First, make sure that you have the correct tools and software installed on your computer. If you don’t, then you’ll need to purchase them before beginning this guide. Once you have the tools and software installed, open up Finder and type “diskutil list” into the search bar. This will show you all of the devices that are connected to your computer. Now, look for the device that is called “iPhone.” This should be located in the lower left-hand corner of the list. Now, drag it off of the screen so that it is no longer connected to your computer. Once it has been removed, type “diskutil delete” into Finder’s search bar and hit enter. This will delete the file associated with that device from your computer’s hard drive. Now, open up Disk Utility and type “diskutil list” into the search bar again. This time, look for “iPhone.” This should be located in the top left-hand corner of the list now. Now drag it off of the screen so that it is no longer connected to your computer again. Once it has been removed, type “diskutil erase” into Disk Utility’s search bar and hit enter again. This will erase all of its files from your hard drive!