Guide: Does Toothpaste Truly Make A CD Or DVD Work Again?

I was watching a movie on my computer when I noticed that the CD or DVD had stopped playing. I tried to change the disc but it wouldn’t work. I then decided to try to remove the disk from my computer. When I tried to do this, the computer said it couldn’t find the disk. So, I decided to take a look on my phone. There was a list of devices that my computer could access and on this list was a CD or DVD that I had left in my car. So, I took the CD or DVD out of my car and put it in my computer. The disc now played correctly and there were no problems with the movie.

Until now. A recent study found that toothpaste can actually help to clean and polish the surface of a scratched optical disc, making it readable again. This is great news for people who have lost or damaged their discs, as it means they no longer have to buy a new one. ..

I had a CD that I burned six years ago that would fail on any attempt to get an optical drive to read it, but I kept it anyway in the hope that one day I would find a way to make it legible again. The disc was slightly scratched and I have certainly seen one in much worse condition. One time I even got a cracked CD read out – although I wouldn’t recommend it as it can fall apart in the drive and spread itty bits all over the place, completely destroying the inside of the optical bay. That didn’t happen to me, but it could.

I tried the toothpaste method because I want the data off this drive, and if not, it’s going to be thrown away. Six years is a long time to wait for something. I rubbed the paste so that it completely covered the data side of the disc, let it dry for a few minutes, then rinsed it thoroughly and dried it with kitchen paper.

I was very disappointed when PCMech published an article claiming that this cleaning method actually works. ..

I placed the disc in the bay and waited a few seconds.

The reading pattern was slightly different from before and the activity light was flickering quickly.

I’ll leave it in the driveway for a few minutes, then give it up because I know this is going to fail again.

Windows has detected that the disk is now readable, but there are still some problems. ..

I was surprised, delighted, shocked and thrilled by what I saw.

The disk read and copied files at a slow speed, but there were no damaged files.

I’m not convinced it was the toothpaste that saved the drive. As far as I know, this could have been pure luck that the disc read this time and not all those other times. ..

Toothpaste is often used as a polishing agent for optical discs. This is supposedly because if you polish enough, it removes a small layer of plastic, fills in the areas caused by the scratches, and makes scratched optical discs readable again. ..

I still don’t know if I will buy that too.

I was really surprised that the toothpaste worked. I thought it would just be a waste of money. ..

Does Toothpaste Truly Make A CD Or DVD Work Again?: benefits

Faq

Final note

Do toothpaste truly make a CD or DVD work again? In this guide, we will answer that question for you. If you have any query about this article, please do not hesitate to ask us. Additionally, please share your love by sharing this guide with your friends.

If you have any queries about the Does Toothpaste Truly Make A CD Or DVD Work Again? guide, then please ask us through the comment section below or directly contact us. Our team will be more than happy to help. Education: This guide or tutorial is for educational purposes only. Misinformation: If you want to correct any misinformation about the guide, then please contact us. Want to add an alternate method: If anyone wants to add more methods to the guide, then please contact us. Our team is always happy to help. We answer your questions within 24-48 hours (Weekend off). Channel: If you want the latest software updates and discussion about any software in your pocket, then here is our Telegram channel.